vault

How am I supposed to let go?
You can call it a cage
but I know it as my haven
The lights only come through
in slats
from bars that
keep me safe
It’s cold sometimes
but my shivering
won’t bother anyone else
down here
But to be honest
I despise my own company
And this voice
her voice
my voice
is becoming too much
She remembers everything
their angry faces
their pressing hands
Sticks and stones
do break bones
but those can mend
Words are like knives
cutting holes and
leaving scars
So what do you do
when all that
is gone?

Leave a Reply

