basement

I want to sing for you
but can I use your words?
They’re so beautiful
Crystallized sugar on
autumnal leaves
draped across your counter tops
and hanging alongside
sun and moon and stars
It’s fitting
like a silk tie
that you’re so taken
with the sky
because that’s just how I
see you

I know I’m walking down
but when I come to you
I feel like I’m ascending
There’s a shift in the air
and it’s based on what you meant
before I knew
who you were
All those letters
All that wax
Sealing secrets
Making pacts
Penning dreams
to hide the ruse
for something
I had yet to lose
Trace a symphony on my back
in A minor or F sus
Because in that quiet little place
it’s only
us

Leave a Reply

